Victorian Craft Awards

Louise Meuwissen and Ebony Russell — 'The Artificial Kingdom - An altar to excess', 2020

The Artificial Kingdom is a devotional grotto, constructed entirely of surface. Opulent and excessive, this shrine without an icon considers how contemporary culture encourages us to believe that spiritual fulfilment can be attained via material accumulation - the hollow fantasy of hyper-consumption.

Louise Meuwissen is a Melbourne-based Australian artist working in textiles, embroidery, sculpture, and installation. Informed by interests in devotion, luxury, aspiration, psychedelia, and the Sublime, Meuwissen incorporates labour intensive manipulation of collected found materials to explore the tensions inherent to yearning, fulfilment, and discardure.

Ebony Russell is an Australian artist currently based in Sydney. Russell's work focuses on notions of nostalgia and desire imbued in collected objects. Using an experimental construction method to produce ceramic sculptures made solely of piping – a technique usually reserved for the cake decorating craft of royal icing – she has developed a process that allows her to create forms that defy their own making. Russell is represented by Artereal Gallery, Sydney.


Established by Craft Victoria in 2015, the Victorian Craft Awards is a biennial event presenting and celebrating excellence in contemporary craft practice. The Awards showcase exceptional works utilising craft skills, processes and materials and include emerging, mid-career and established craftspeople from across Victoria.  

The Finalists.

Adam Markowitz & Oliver Tanner, Alexsandra Pontonio, Amanda Ho, Ana Petidis, Anke Kindle, Anna Davern, Anton Gerner, Australian Tapestry Workshop & Troy Emery, Beverley Meldrum, Blanche Tilden, Cara Johnson, Cassie Leatham, Christopher Plumridge, Damien Wright & Bonhula Yunupingu, Danielle Thiris, Darren Healey, Ema Shin, Grace Brown, Holly Grace. Iluka Sax-Williams, James Lemon, Jane Sawyer, Jenna Lee, Jennifer Conroy-Smith, Jessie French, Jin Ah Jo, Jo Hawley, Juanita Mulholland, Katherine Hubble, Katrina Tyler, Kirby Bourke (Two Lines Studio), Kirsten Haydon, Kristin Burgham, Lee Darroch, Lindy McSwan, Lisa Waup, Liv Boyle, Louise Meuwissen & Ebony Russell, Marcos Guzman, Mechelle Shooter, Michaela Pegum, Michelle Stewart, Narelle White, Nicole Polentas, Prue Venables, Roseanne Bartley, Samuel Burns, Sara Lindsay, Shimara Carlow, Sophia Cai, Thomas Lentini, Timothy Gresham, Timothy White, Troy Emery & Daniel Poole, Vicki Mason, Yi Jen Chu, Zhu Ohmu. 


Materials: Porcelain, glaze, lustre, imitation pearls, glass, swarovski crystals, pearls, quartz crystal, leaded crystal, plastic, felted acrylic, polyester thread

Dimensions: 29cm x 20cm x 21cm

Photography: Simon Hewson

Read more about the Victoria Craft Awards and this years judging panel here

1 piece in stock.

Add to Wishlist

You may also like

Recently viewed