Victorian Craft Awards

Lisa Waup — 'Memory:time:place (Time Keeper)', 2021

"Over time we have developed a multitude of ways to express our capacity of memory, and to also ensure memories can be passed on to future generations. Our true concept of time is multifaceted, it morphs and changes throughout the generations and particularly to the circumstances we find ourselves in. When genocide of culture began, time collided and looped. Connection to memories can fade over time, especially if these connections are broken or have intentionally been broken from deliberate attempts to have memories erased. memory:time:place for me is a connection to the power within, the healing element of creating objects and for them to becomes guided time capsules. Understanding the power of made objects is to retain, transmit and share knowledge and stories. A mapping of time is long gone, a reigniting of connection and peace is forever present." 
- Lisa Waup

Lisa Waup is a mixed-cultural First Nations and Italian woman and Naarm/Melbourne-based multidisciplinary artist and curator. Working across weaving, printmaking, photography, sculpture, textiles, and jewellery, Waup uses symbology throughout her practice and choice of materials to weave her family, Country, history, and story into her works.


Established by Craft Victoria in 2015, the Victorian Craft Awards is a biennial event presenting and celebrating excellence in contemporary craft practice. The Awards showcase exceptional works utilising craft skills, processes and materials and include emerging, mid-career and established craftspeople from across Victoria.  

The Finalists.

Adam Markowitz & Oliver Tanner, Alexsandra Pontonio, Amanda Ho, Ana Petidis, Anke Kindle, Anna Davern, Anton Gerner, Australian Tapestry Workshop & Troy Emery, Beverley Meldrum, Blanche Tilden, Cara Johnson, Cassie Leatham, Christopher Plumridge, Damien Wright & Bonhula Yunupingu, Danielle Thiris, Darren Healey, Ema Shin, Grace Brown, Holly Grace. Iluka Sax-Williams, James Lemon, Jane Sawyer, Jenna Lee, Jennifer Conroy-Smith, Jessie French, Jin Ah Jo, Jo Hawley, Juanita Mulholland, Katherine Hubble, Katrina Tyler, Kirby Bourke (Two Lines Studio), Kirsten Haydon, Kristin Burgham, Lee Darroch, Lindy McSwan, Lisa Waup, Liv Boyle, Louise Meuwissen & Ebony Russell, Marcos Guzman, Mechelle Shooter, Michaela Pegum, Michelle Stewart, Narelle White, Nicole Polentas, Prue Venables, Roseanne Bartley, Samuel Burns, Sara Lindsay, Shimara Carlow, Sophia Cai, Thomas Lentini, Timothy Gresham, Timothy White, Troy Emery & Daniel Poole, Vicki Mason, Yi Jen Chu, Zhu Ohmu. 


Materials:  Hand dyed fibre, emu feathers, cotton thread, assorted antique brass and found clock and watch parts, acrylic

Dimensions: 67cm x 47cm x 6cm

Photography: Supplied by the artist

Read more about the Victoria Craft Awards and this years judging panel here

1 piece in stock.

Add to Wishlist

You may also like

Recently viewed